WhatsApp update: A brand new WhatsApp update will change the way the chat app backs up your content. The Facebook-owned app will also start deleting some of your saved messages, photos and videos from November 12, 2018. So far, the chat app has backed up users’ content on popular cloud storage service Google Drive. However, with Google undertaking some changes, WhatsApp back-up won’t make use of the Google Drive storage space. Backed-up messages, photos, and videos of the country will still remain on Google Drive but they won’t count towards the storage limit of the user. However, there is a catch.
The chat app will also start deleting some of your old content. If you haven’t updated WhatsApp back up for over a year, then the old content will completely disappear from Google Drive. WhatsApp says, “Starting November 12, 2018, WhatsApp backups will no longer count towards the Google Drive storage quota. Furthermore, WhatsApp backups that haven’t been updated in more than one year will be automatically removed from Google Drive storage.”
What to do?
To save backed-up content, you must manually back up your WhatsApp data before November 12, 2018. WhatsApp chats and media can be backed up on Google Drive. WhatsApp recommends ” connecting your phone to Wi-Fi prior to backing up your chats via Google Drive, as backup files can vary in size and consume mobile data, causing additional charges.”
In an email to users, Google said, “Due to a new agreement between WhatsApp and Google, WhatsApp backups will no longer count against Google Drive storage quota.” “However, any WhatsApp backups that have not been updated in more than a year will automatically be removed from storage,” it added.
How to manually back up WhatsApp
– Activate Google account on your phone and install Google Drive
– It’s advisable to switch on to Wi-Fi to save valuable data while saving all valuable data to the cloud.
– Open WhatsApp and go to Menu, then to Settings, then Chats, then Chat Back up.
– If you select Back Up, everything on the phone would be automatically backed up to the Google Drive.